Do We Need Self Confidence?

Confidence. It seems to be something everyone struggles with these days. A lot of teenage girls, it seems, have a hard time accepting themselves the way they are, always pointing out the blemishes on their faces. I struggle with accepting the blemishes on my face a times myself. We can be our own bullies, can’t we? However, most people nowadays seem to be really promoting self confidence. Now, I definitely believe we should have confidence. But, do we need self confidence? Bluntly put, self confidence, means to think highly of yourself. But, honestly, is having confidence, really about us? So often, we rely on others for comments of praise to receive our confidence. We post pictures on social media to try and get compliments to feel better about ourselves. Or maybe we’ve accomplished something that day, and we really just want a pat on the back for a job well done. And I admit, I’ve done this myself before. But is this really what we should do? Is this where we should seek confidence, by looking for the good in ourselves?

First, let’s see what the Bible says about this.

Psalms 139:14 says,  “I thank you because I am awesomely made, wonderfully; your works are wonders -I know this very well.”

So, you are wonderfully made, because God almighty says so. Not because your friends or anyone else says so. God made you exactly the way you are. God makes no mistake. You are valuable to Him.

We are all sinners though, who are in need of God’s grace every day.

Plenty of people in the Bible had weaknesses. Take Moshe(Moses)  for example, he had a stuttering problem. God did not coddle him by trying to help his ego and tell him of all the other things he was great at.

Exodus 4:10-11 says,  “Moshe said to Adonai, “Oh, Adonai, I’m a terrible speaker. I always have been, and I’m no better now, even after you’ve spoken to your servant! My words come slowly, my tongue moves slowly.” Adonai answered him, “Who gives a person a mouth? Who makes a person dumb or deaf, keen-sighted or blind? Isn’t it I, Adonai?”

So, next time you feel worthless, ugly or horrible at everything, instead of trying to gain confidence by trying to think highly of yourself, or gaining approval of others, remember, God says you are valuable and loved by Him. The creator of the world, the one who sent His son to be crucified on that torture stake, because of his uncomprehendingly amazing love for YOU!

Leave a Reply

