I Don’t Care for Valentine’s Day

I don’t care too much for Valentine’s Day. And, no it’s not because I don’t have a Valentine. 🙂  To me, Valentine’s Day is just another day. However, my main reason for personally disliking the idea of a holiday to show everyone love is that very idea. Why do we have so set apart one day a year to buy people candy or gifts? Why can’t we show love to people every day? I’m not saying we should buy someone gifts every day, although there’s nothing wrong with that. What I’m saying is, why do have to do it on that specific day? Every day with your friends, family, significant other, etc should be filled with love. Why do we need a holiday to make a statement of our love? Valentine’s Day shouldn’t be a day where we seek reassurance of being love by others. So many girls are so happy if they get a date for Valentine’s Day because they want to be “relationship goals”, fit in, etc.  I don’t need a certain day to know I’m loved.

And honestly, it seems like everyone feels like they have to buy their friends something for Valentine’s Day. The same with every other holiday where gift giving is common. We feel obligated to buy someone a gift.  If I’m going to buy someone something, I’m going to do it because I actually want to.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I love Valentine’s candy! My favorite happens to be the Sweet Hearts, I think they’re called, if I remember correctly.
Anyways, these are just my reasons for not really caring for the holiday. Do you care for Valentine’s Day? Why or why not?

2 thoughts on “I Don’t Care for Valentine’s Day

  1. Nice post! I agree with your reasons but I also add to them the fact that the whole day is (like almost all other holidays that the world embraces) founded by pagans for less than lovely and pure reasons. 🙂😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

