How to Quit Picking Your Nails


For as long as I can remember I’ve always picked my nails. I can’t remember a time in my life where I actually had nice nails. They were always VERY short, bitten past the quick. They certainly weren’t a very pretty site to look at. I can’t begin to tell you how many times I’ve tried to stop this bad habit. But, one of the contributing factors in getting rid of my bad habit, was the embarrassment of having very short nails. I started to realize how bad my nails looked when I had my picture taken for my birthday, and my short nails were noticeable.  Whenever I was around other people, I would try to remember to keep my nails out of sight, by keeping my hands in my lap, keeping my hands balled into fists whenever I walked around and such.

This year getting rid of my habit of ripping my nails, has actually been a goal for me to complete before the year was over, and I’m extremely happy to say I haven’t torn my nails go almost 6 weeks, not have I had the desire or urge to do so. I never would have imagined myself with nails that actually looked nice for a change. If you’re like me and  struggle with this bad habit like I did, here are five tips that hopefully will help you to give it up.

First, put your mind to it

Before I share any tips, this is the first step to getting rid of the bad habit or tearing your nails. You really have to put your mind to it and have determination. You either want to quit doing it or not.

1. The Elimination Method 

I got this idea from a magazine I read a few years back. Each week you eliminate one nail that you can’t tear. So, the first week, you would be able to mess with four of your nails, while the fifth would be off limits.

2. Get more manicures

Either getting a manicure at a nail salon or doing it at home can help. Because you’ve either spent a lot of money on your nails or a lot of time and your nails look so nice.

3. Substitute it with something else 

Instead of picking your nails, substitute it with gum, doodling or something else to relieve your nervousness, stress or whatever it is that causes your reason for nail biting.
4. Ask someone to remind you

Ask your family or friends, that if they see you picking your nails, to kindly make you aware of what you’re doing.
5. Go cold turkey

If though this can be a pice of advice we don’t like to hear, I’m going to say it anyway, because it worked for me. Just STOP!


Along with using these tips, prayer is another thing that will definitely help you get rid of this habit!

Once your quit tearing your nails, I read that if you give them an oval shape, it makes your nails stronger, making it harder to rip. Another reason why it’s good to have oval shaped nails is there’s no corners to tear, also making it harder.

Not all of these worked for me, but I’m sharing them anyway, because what didn’t work for me, may work for you. Just like what worked for me, may not work for you.

Do you have any other tips for helping others to stop tearing their nails?

Leave a Reply

