His Name is Yeshua


His name is Yeshua. His name is not Jesus. When He was on earth they wouldn’t have called him Jesus, but instead Yeshua, as that’s his real name. Jesus is just a translation of his name, not his actual name. I think a lot of us fail to realize this. When you know someone by their real name, your relationship with that person becomes even more special! You can still have a close relationship with Yeshua if you call him by Jesus or if that’s how you have known him, it just makes it all the more special when you know his actual name.  Just like if my friend tells me her real name, it makes my friendship with that person even closer. We as Christians often strip away Yeshua’s Jewishness, and think of him as a Gentile. We should think of him as a Jewish Messiah who came to save Jews and Gentiles alike. Like I just said earlier, when you think of Yeshua as a Jew who observed the Torah, your relationship is even better! Because he was a Jew this means he did things Jews did, like dancing, eating Kosher, observing holidays found in the Torah, and even celebrating Hannukah! First of all, the Bible doesn’t have to say he did these things, for us to know he did this. This is what Jews did, if he hadn’t done any of this, the Pharisees would have questioned him. Because, what Jew back then didn’t do this? I’m writing all of this, because it makes me very sad when Christians don’t recognize Him as the Torah observant Jew He was. If Yeshua celebrated these Biblical holidays and such, shouldn’t we want to celebrate them?  Instead, today, you won’t find Christians setting up sukhas for the Feast of Tabernacles, because so many believe the Old Testament has been done away with and only very small portions of it are applicable today.

Maybe you’re wondering why my beliefs sound a little bit different compared to a couple months ago when I truly believed that we didn’t need to do any of this since we are “no longer under the law”.  Ever since I’ve come back from Israel, I’ve changed my way of thinking. The only law that’s been done away with, is the law of sin and death!

Matthew 5:17 says, “Do not misunderstand why I have come. I did not come to abolish the Law of Moses or the writings of the prophets. No, I came to fufil their purpose.”

If Yeshua didn’t come to do away with the Law of Moses, then we should still be celebrating the Biblical feasts, since,  Exodus 12:14 says, “This is a day to remember. Each year from generation to generation, you must celebrate it as a special feast to the L-RD. This is a law for all time.”  Before you say that G-D was only directing this to the Jews…well, the Bible says that we, Gentiles have been grafted in with the Jews. Even though we may not be Jewish by blood, we are spiritual Jews.:) And we can’t say that this verse here no longer applies because G-D never changes his mind. He is the same yesterday, today and forever.

I apologize if it seems I’m rambling, these things have just been on my mind lately.:)

 

 

Social media:

Instagram: @amillionthingstotalkabout

Facebook: A Million Things To Talk About or click this link: https://www.facebook.com/amillionthingstotalkabout

4 thoughts on “His Name is Yeshua

  1. I agree with you that Jesus was a Torah observing Messianic Jew but I have to tell you this we are freed from the Law and we are under Grace by this I am not an Antinomian. There were 3 divisions in the Law namely the Moral, Ceremonial and State law. Christians keep the moral law but ceremonial law like washing and the temple sacrifice as well as state law stoning of Homosexuals etc etc do not apply to us.We are not required to keep the festivals of OT as they were types and shadows pointing to Jesus Christ Colossians 2:16-17.Jesus Christ is the Substance/the Essence. God is Spirit and he expects his Children to worship him in Truth and Spirit. God has given us the freedom to call upon his name in our own Mother tongue. I just need to warn you of the Hebrew root movement guys and would recommend this book, Jesus Unmasked by Todd Friel at http://www.amazon.com/Jesus-Unmasked-Truth-Will-Shock/dp/089221726X

    God Bless!!!

    Like

    • I agree, the law has been done away with. The law of sin and death is. But not God’s Torah. God never changes, he is the same today and yesterday. I would encourage you to read Paul’s writings. In his writings, it is evident his love for the Torah and how he obeyed it. He even kept the Biblical feasts(Acts 20:16). Even the Gentile believers in Corinthians kept the Biblical feasts, as indicated in 1 Corinthians 5:6-8.
      1 John 5:3, “For loving God means obeying his commands. Moreover, his commands are not burdensome.”

      Like

  2. This is so awesome Tori!!! I was pretty surprised by this actually since, like you said, a few months ago I would have said your beliefs were very different from mine! And to think I have known you before and now after this change in your faith! I love this post and hope we can talk more on Instagram if you like! Also, need I say once more how jealous I am that you got to visit Israel? Ah, one day I will go to the Holy Land too. -Bekah Shashaguay 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I would love to talk with you more on Instagram! Like they say, going to Israel can change your life, and I believe going to Israel played a huge part in my beliefs changing. I can’t believe I didn’t realize all of this before as it was right before me in the Bible!

      Like

Leave a Reply

