Blaise Pascal and his Theory of Probabilities

 Hey again! I hope you’ve had a great week so far! One thing I’m thankful for this week is that I’m now on summer break! Hopefully, that means that I’ll be able to set aside more time for blogging than usual.

I know I normally don’t write about these types of things, but I hope you like this anyway. For those of you who enjoy history (as I do), you’ll enjoy today’s post. But for those of you who don’t…well, who knows, maybe you’ll find it interesting too! 🙂

Many of you have probably never heard of Blaise Pascal (but kudos to those of you who have!). Fortunately, because I’m home schooled, I have a bit of an advantage to being more exposed to Christian history. First, before I get to Pascal’s theory, I should give you a little insight on his life and exactly who he was.

Blaise Pascal was born in France and was a physicist, inventor and Christian philosopher (I know, he covered a lot of things!). He was pretty smart, considering he wrote about the geometry of cones at only sixteen years old. Plus, when he nineteen, he invented the first mechanical calculator (apparently, he was very smart to have done this!)! This invention of his was later called the Pascaline. It’s also said that he was the first to invent a wrist watch.

After being in a horse-drawn carriage collision, his outlook on life changed and he began reading the Bible, which led to him giving his life to the Lord.

Okay, so now that you basically know who Blaise Pascal was, let’s talk about his theory of probabilities. He took the mathematical theory of probabilities and used it to defend his faith in God. It goes like this:

1. If I take a chance in believing that there is a God, and I’m right, then I gain eternity for having believed in him.

2. If I take a chance in believing there is a God, and I’m wrong, then I lose nothing for having not believed in him.

3. If I take a chance in believing there is no God and I’m right, then I lose nothing for having not believed in him.

4. If I take a chance in believing there is no God and I’m wrong, then I lose eternity for having not believed in him.

What was Pascal’s conclusion, you ask? It is best to believe that God exists!

I think what he wrote is pretty powerful, as it shows that all other options result in a loss! Believing that God exists gives us the only chance that there is a gain for eternity.

In closing, I’ll leave you with something Blaise Pascal said.

Jesus Christ is the object of all things, the centre towards which all things tend. Whoever knows him knows the reason for everything.

What are your thoughts on this post? Let me know by leaving me a comment!

Leave a Reply

