Apple Leather Strips

Hey! Okay, I promise, I’m not turning the blog into a place for just recipes! I’m just in the midst of trying to move most of my old blog’s posts to this one (to view my previous blog, visit http://www.rosesnaturalsolutions.blogspot.com ). So, my blog posts should hopefully return to random topics each time.

Today, I’m sharing with you a delicious recipe! I really love any type of fruit leather! But, my favorite flavor would probably be cherry or apple. I’d been meaning to make some sort of fruit leather for quite some time, and I had finally gotten around to it.

Items needed:

4 cups of apples (two apples usually makes four cups)

1 tsp. honey (optional)

spices (optional)

1 tsp. of lemon

1/2 cup of water

dehydrator

In a medium sized saucepan, add the apples, spices, honey, lemon and water. Keep the temperature on low for about ten or fifteen minutes or until completely cooked. Then, use a potato masher, mash the apples. Afterwards, blend in a food processor or a blender until smooth. Pour evenly on a dehydrator rack. Dehydrate for 10-12 hours (or however long the instruction booklet says to dehydrate fruit leather). Once done, peel fruit leather off, slice, and enjoy!

If you don’t have a dehydrator, follow these steps:

Line a large cookie sheet with wax paper and pour the fruit blend onto it. Cook at 140 degrees for 10-20 hours. Once done, peel fruit leather off, slice, and enjoy!

Have you ever used a dehydrator or your oven to dry food before? How did it turn out?

*to view the original post for the recipe on my old blog, click this link:http://rosesnaturalsolutions.blogspot.com/2013/11/apple-leather-strips.html

Leave a Reply

