Book Review: Double Take by Melody Carlson

The last time I did a book review, it was on Healing Waters. This time, I wanted to do something by Melody Carlson. Personally, I really enjoy reading her books since she is a Christian author and as she seems to get me “hooked” every time.

I picked this book out as one of my Christmas present, and it was actually  a really good deal off of Amazon (only 89 cents), with the book being like new! Amazon is now one of my favorite places to shop for books. Anyway, on to the book review.
Synopsis of the story: It’s spring break of her senior year and Madison Van Buren is stressed over decisions on college, her parents’ bickering and pressures from her boyfriend, so Madison gets in her car and drives away.
Meanwhile, seventeen-year-old Anna Fisher wants to escape the so-called simple life of the Amish-which for her consists of caring for younger children, sewing, cooking, and gardening-and she’s well aware that her future will simply be more of the same with a man she doesn’t love.
My thoughts on this story: When I got this book, I thought I would enjoy it, since I love reading about the Amish. But, I didn’t find this book to be very realistic, and if I’m going to be reading about Amish, people, I like it to be realistic. I guess when I got the book, I should have realized it probably wouldn’t be very realistic. Now, I’m not saying it’s not a good book, it had a good plot and was interesting, but (and this Is just my opinion) Anna didn’t seem  to act too much like an Amish person. So, I think next time I read a book by Melody Carlson, it won’t be an Amish one.
Do you like it when I do book reviews? Would you rather me not? Have you ever read a book by this author? Let me know by leaving me a comment!
Leave a Reply

