Book Review on Healing Waters

I absolutely love reading, so I thought, why not write book reviews? I also decided to try to this at least once a month(some of the books I review may be recent or a few years old). To me, books are like food for the mind.I know this may a bit off topic, but I read in a magazine recently that a study was done on reading books online vs. an “actual book”, said people (especially children) are more likely to remember more parts of a books if read as an “actual book” (I like having an actual book in my hand rather than reading it on the computer anyway). Just food for though. Anyway, back to the main point of this post. To talk about the book review, Healing Waters.

Book review on: Healing Waters by Nancy Rue and Stephen Arterburn

Synopsis of the story: Lucia Coffey sees herself as fat and a failure, however, when she sees here sister, Sonia, she sees perfect. In the midst of tragedy, she meets psychologist Sullivan Crisp, who himself is still trying to heal from his past. Together they find the strength to heal.

My thoughts on this book: At a first glance at the book, I thought this story would be mostly about Lucia, but it was also about Sullivan trying to heal from his past. In the first few chapters, I wasn’t sure I’d enjoy the book, but as I started to read a little father, I realized I was enjoying the story. If felt as if the characters in the books were real. The book also makes some references to “Christians who went too far in their faith”. Nancy Rue and Stephen Arterburn don’t put down people who may believe this way, but rather talk about the abuse of this kind of teaching. While this is not one of my favorite books, I found it to be a very nice story. This would be a great books for those who struggle with weight loss or feel sometimes less than perfect. I would give this book 4 1/2 stars.

Leave a Reply

