Why I Will Choose Courting Over Dating

couple holding hands : Young couple in love walking in the autumn park holding hands looking in the sunset

A few months ago I was inspired by the Duggars (I love their show!), that when I find myself old enough, to choose courting over dating. Like the Duggars have said, it’s “dating with a purpose”. While many people may see courting as old fashioned, I see it as a more serious way to date. Below I’ve stated several reasons why I’ve chosen courting over dating.

Courting has more of a commitment involved.

When you choose courting, the person you’re in a relationship with, could possibly become your spouse. And, people typically don’t enter a relationship unless they’re hoping to get married sometime soon. On the other hand, when you date, you may be in a steady relationship without any thoughts of getting married anytime soon. Sometimes people may date a person while knowing it’s someone they couldn’t see their self married to. This is one reason why I will choose courting. Why would I want to go out with different guys I couldn’t see myself married to?

It Involves Accountability.

I believe it’s important to include accountability in any relationship you’re in with a guy. When courting, more often than not, it involves accountability. Accountability in courting is when you are in an environment with other people, instead of being alone in a situation where you could fall into temptation. It could also mean that if you’re alone, you would have a chaperon. While dating, people may often be alone with their boyfriend, often ending up in a situation of temptation.

You save the physical part until you’re married.

While most Christians dating intend to stay pure until marriage, they may go farther than what I believe is necessary. Most people courting will save their first kiss until they say, “I do” (like I plan to do), as it makes it more special. Some people may even choose not to hold hands until they’re engaged or may only give side hugs. Courting couple to save most physical touch until they’re married, while dating couples may not.

What’s your choice? Courting or dating? Why? Let me know your answer by leaving me a comment!

4 thoughts on “Why I Will Choose Courting Over Dating

  1. Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment! Often times the option that may give you the most freedom is where you can end up in an area of temptation, that we as Christians should try to avoid. I realize there are many choices to choose from when it comes to relationships, and I find courtship will suit me best. I also would never think of abandoning my relationship with God. Have a great day and may God bless you!

    Like

  2. Dating, courting, betrothal, arranged marriages … it can be difficult to choose, but I would prefer the option that gives me the most freedom. The Duggers are an isolated example of a seemingly successful movement, but there are a great many that left the movement and christianity altogether. You really should carefully investigate your possibilities.

    Like

Leave a Reply

